Sing me to sleep

“As he read, I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.”

Sleep has been on my mind lately.
It is something we all need and do.
An average person sleeps for one third of their life.

I’ve been thinking about the times I’ve fallen
asleep next to you.
How we stay up like two kids
laughing and talking, too excited to fall
asleep right away.
Innocent yet intimate.

It’s something so simple
Yet I’m so grateful to be in peace
beside you.

I haven’t found all the words to describe how I’ve been feeling lately.
But my feelings came “slowly then all at once”…And somehow I find myself…

I find myself waking up
to something better than my dreams.

Leave a Reply

